Uhuhuuhuhuhuhuu - Reisverslag uit Lampang, Thailand van Stéphanie Thouvignon - WaarBenJij.nu Uhuhuuhuhuhuhuu - Reisverslag uit Lampang, Thailand van Stéphanie Thouvignon - WaarBenJij.nu

Uhuhuuhuhuhuhuu

Door: Stephanie

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Stéphanie

23 April 2009 | Thailand, Lampang

Uhuhuuhuhuhuhuu
 
Is the sound I have heard for the last 3 days and it is how I feel at this moment. Well I feel 

!HAPPY!

And that's why I am here again so soon with my next episode ;)

On April 19th I met Yom. Yom is very big, strong, smart and very friendly; in other words: Yom is very clever.
We spend 3 days together and every day we became closer and closer.
Every morning at 6.30 A.M. we had breakfast together, then we took a swim in one of the lakes and afterwards, we walked in the forest for a couple of hours.
After a break during the hottest hours of the day we went back to the lake to swim again and then went home to have dinner. Yom became my best friend.

The elephant being my favorite tropical animal for years already, I decided to go to the -Thai Elephant Conservation Center- in Lampang to learn to be a mahout of my own elephant. I learned how to talk to her (in Thai language :)), how to clean her and take a bath together with her; what to give her for breakfast and how much :D, To let her eat and sleep at the right place (an elephant needs to eat for 18 hours and the other 5 hours are reserved for sleeping) and... how to mount an elephant, which especially in the beginning is less easy than to mount a horse to which I more used.
There are different ways to mount an elephant, but the easiest way for the elephant is by taking his ear and using his forearm (he lifts his forearm a little bit) and so you can pull yourself on his back.
I was lucky Yom always helped me a bit by pushing me upwards with her ear (at my bottom:))
I became better and better in mounting an elephant, but after 3 days practice I am now actually very stiff and not able to do as much as I am used to :) 

During the 3 days I wasn’t alone of course. Yom's Mahout named Yumrut taught me the first things to be a mahout and Pat was someone who translated into English if talking with hands and feet was not enough. And Pat also cooked for me in the evening. He cooked green curry without using chili :D:D:D So I was finally able to taste the delicious Thai curry, without dying because of the spiciness. He also avoided coriander and took the information I wrote down for him at my arrival very seriously (about me being half vegetarian: no pork and beef but chicken and fish are ok) :) He surprised me with fresh fish from the lake, still alive, and after watching him from a distance while he prepared the fish, I had a delicious meal. :)
 
Sleeping alone in a private sleeping resort somewhere in the forest was an interesting experience. It was very nice to sleep and wake up with sounds of the animals in the background. The Tji(k)tjak was my roommate again (I already met it in Indonesia) and very welcome because he eats the mosquitoes in my bedroom. But this time also the Gekko came into my room to wake me up at 5  o’clock in the morning :) Before, I only saw him around the house.
 
My trip back to Chiangmai unexpectedly turned into a hitchhike trip, although I was waiting for the local bus. Now I wait for the moment that I will be able to walk normal again and be prepared for a new experience!
 
Uhuhuhuhuhuhu!

Stephanie

  • 23 April 2009 - 08:34

    Noortje:

    Hai Stephanie,

    Hartstikke leuk om te lezen dat je het daar zo ontzettend naar je zin hebt. Ik vind je wel stoer hoor! :-)

    Geniet van alle mooie dingen die nog komen gaan en tot over een maandjes weer.

    Groetjes,
    Noortje.

  • 23 April 2009 - 10:56

    Ina:

    prachtige en ontroerende foto's! ik snap dat het je gelukkig gemaakt heeft.
    zoen,
    Ina

  • 23 April 2009 - 11:04

    David And Dorothy:

    Thank you for the excellent reports, Stephanie. We enjoyed reading them. I think you would make a very good journalist or even an authoress.
    Bye,
    David and Dorothy Horsburgh

  • 23 April 2009 - 13:54

    Karin:

    Wat geweldig zeg! Zal wel moeite gekost hebben om afscheid te nemen van die olifant.....
    In elk geval een geweldige ervaring!

    Bisous,

    Karin & Patrick

  • 23 April 2009 - 20:06

    Leonie:

    Hey Stephanie :)

    Wat een leuk verhaal weer, en die olifant :D geweldig. Ik wil best met je ruilen. :) Ik vroeg me af of je nog contact hebt met alle mensen die je eerder op je reis hebt ontmoet?
    Hier in NL gaat het op de afdeling kinderchirurgie in het WKZ ook wel goed :)

    Oh, ik had nog een raar verzoekje: ben je erg gehecht aan die gele achtergrond? :P ik moet erg m'n best doen om die witte letters te lezen.

  • 24 April 2009 - 07:31

    Michel:

    Quel chemin parcouru depuis Kijou le lapin à Yom l'Eléphant...une Belle expérience dans un périple déjà riche...
    Bisous


  • 27 April 2009 - 16:42

    David &dorothy Horsb:

    What a great story about how to get up on an elephants back - Dorothy and I did enjoy it and thank you to Stephanie.

  • 29 April 2009 - 03:42

    Zorica:

    The photos from Thailand are fabulous!! Kisses from Niksic!

  • 14 Mei 2009 - 12:49

    Roderik:

    Ik ben toch wel een beetje jaloers op die olifant hoor haha

    X Roderik

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Stéphanie

Actief sinds 02 Jan. 2009
Verslag gelezen: 401
Totaal aantal bezoekers 62900

Voorgaande reizen:

07 Februari 2009 - 15 Augustus 2009

Mijn wereldreis door southeast asia en China

22 September 2009 - 30 November -0001

Marseille, Southeast France

Landen bezocht: